Finding Hope Through Daffodils

Image

The other day while driving along in my car, I noticed beautiful yellow daffodils sticking up out of the ground on the side of the road. There were only about four of them and they were surrounded by bare trees, rocks and dirt. The area around them looked drab and lifeless; yet right in the middle were these brightly colored flowers blooming.

I live on the East Coast and we’ve recently experienced (what seems like) one of the longest, coldest and snowiest winters that I can remember. It’s been rough, and at times I’ve wondered if spring would ever arrive. The constant gray skies and temperatures below 20 degrees for days, can definitely take its toll on some of us. I for one am affected by different weather patterns and this winter has definitely affected my mood. When I saw these daffodils however, I got excited. These little yellow flowers filled me with hope – knowing that winter will end soon and spring is right around the corner. It may not have come as fast as I would’ve liked it to, but spring is coming!

God will use the world around us to explain His principles, and He showed me something very simple through these little flowers. He reminded that the seasons WILL come and the seasons WILL go. Each year we can expect four seasons (winter, spring, summer, and fall). I’m sure each of us would probably admit to having a favorite season, yet all of us go through them all. Although I am not a fan of winter, I do understand that God does something amazing to the ground during the colder months. I know that there would be no spring without a winter. I understand that He has a purpose for each season, so I trust Him. I may not always like the season I am in, but I do trust God!

In the same way, we ALL go through different seasons in our lives. We have periods of time when everything is going well for us, we have little to complain about and feel like we are on top of the world. We have seasons of relaxation, and seasons of business and preparation. We go through seasons of change and seasons of stability. We also have difficult seasons in life; times of mourning, loss, sadness, trials and tribulations. We all have experienced each of these at some point. Did you know that these life seasons are ordered by God? Yes, that’s right. Our (Sovereign) Heavenly Father uses the seasons of our lives to teach us, discipline us, strengthen us, shape us and help us – ultimately for His perfect plan (and for our good). It is no accident that we experience four seasons of weather here on Earth, and it’s also no accident that we experience the different seasons in our lives. God is in control and always doing something wonderful during each season, but specifically during the difficult seasons.  I’ve been going through a bit of a challenging season lately, and while it’s not easy, I see God doing something miraculous in it.  I was reminded of that truth when I saw those beautiful daffodils blooming in the midst of the rocky ground, on that dreary winter day.

Although the seasons of life will change, God remains the same – always good and always faithful! This truth is what helps me through the difficult times of life.

I don‘t know what season of life you are in right now, but just remember that it won’t last forever. I’d like to encourage you today to have hope in God, and what’s to come!  Rejoice in the Lord always!  Winter won’t last forever – there are daffodils in your future!

Genesis 8:22 ~ “While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, And cold and heat, And summer and winter, And day and night shall not cease.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1 ~ There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven

Psalm 30:5 ~ … may last for the night, but a shout of joy comes in the morning

Hebrews 13:8 ~ Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever

~ Melissa

Leave a Reply

